One woman's journey within

Health Food Store Related Chat, Supplements, Herbs, Spirituality, Advice, Gratitude, Abundance, Love, Death, Joy

I am a river, life is a river?

When studying many buddhist texts, I tried thinking of self as river, as water, gracefully flowing through life, gentle and non-forceful, yet powerful in breaking down boundaries and obstacles; the river that accepts things as they are and just continues on flowing and moving. Water is soft but how persistent, with time dissolving the strongest of elements.

In my morning meditation today I listened to Tara Brach, who suggests thinking of life flowing through you, while you stay there and observe. So the self is not a river, but life is a river. It flows through the self, it is connected with the self, and it passes through the self. Perhaps I can think of self as a twig floating in the river and going with the flow of it.

Somehow being a river is more in line with what my ego wants. I am more in control, I am in charge, I flow through things and direct my flow and conquer. Having life be a river that flows though me leaves me groundless and out of control, just being there and accepting and coming to peace with the energy that presents itself. I love these morning revelations and I am wide open to receive more.

One response to “I am a river, life is a river?

  1. Madeline Johnson August 30, 2015 at 5:22 pm

    I too have had so many morning revelations and enjoy Tara Brach’s meditations and talks. Happy to have found your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

